Tuesday, March 27, 2012

Facebook "name-a-likes" try to spam with fake logons; malware in Chrome store


Today, I got an supposed automatic “friend request” email from Facebook, and the link to me to “Facylook.com” and invited me to log in (I was already logged on – tipoff – look at the real domain name on the notification line).  So here’s another spam scheme to get you to give away your Facebook passwords and other personal info (and probably turn your Facebook account into a spam bot).

Webroot tweeted a warning about malicious Chrome extensions being offered on the official Chrome store, and these are also used to hijack Facebook accounts and turn them into sources of spam (with a very good chance of getting your Facebook account canceled, and “you” are probably responsible).  The story is here.  

No comments: